EL Falcon engine

Go here for posts about rebuilds, parts and problems
monte
Old Hand

EL Falcon engine

Post by monte »

I am wondering if you can turn a EL Falcon engine back into a carb engine ,they are single overhead cam and a nice engine as I had one in my XH ute ,they have a dizzy and coil unlike the EF that went to coil packs that were a disaster ,so I am thinking as I have no knowledge of computer shit would it be possible to put a new manifold on and run a carb and maybe run a 4 speed non computer auto like the ones in the mustang or should I just bite the bullet and go full computer with a BA Barra and learn some more shit about the computer stuff
roblrc

Re: EL Falcon engine

Post by roblrc »

I have used a modified EA CFI manifold with either a Weber or Holley carb. Also have used straight LPG.
Rob
monte
Old Hand

Post by monte »

roblrc wrote:I have used a modified EA CFI manifold with either a Weber or Holley carb. Also have used straight LPG.
Rob
How did it go
van460

Post by van460 »

Go fg barra 195 engine and zf6 speed auto
Can pick up a complete car for under 2k and gives you lots of usable bits

Remove engine/box, accelerator pedal, gear stick and wiring/ecu from left side of engine bay

Costs about $400 to have loom and ecu changed to suit whatever you have
chop_shop

Post by chop_shop »

this would be the manifold to get for a ford 4.oL to carb conversion....

[url]/https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ford-4-0-3- ... ZZ4wHU[url]
“Any fool can know. The point is to understand.”
― Albert Einstein
van460

Post by van460 »

I cant see any gains in using an e series engine if you're going to convert it back to carb/dizzy and old style auto
In all honesty its probably more involved than using the EFI and good 4-5-6 speed auto
monte
Old Hand

Post by monte »